Gender and right-wing extremism

gender roles in contemporary right-wing extremism

What are the differences in motivation to join right-wing extremist scenes for boys and girls respectively? What role do images of the “real man” and the “caring woman” play? What significance do gender and family politics have within the right-wing extremist agenda?

Distinct gender identity is a foundation of a right-wing extremist world view. The ideal of the “hard-working” and fierce man and the caring woman looking after home and children can be traced throughout. Aggressive anti-feminism and the fight against gender equality make a substantial part of right-wing extremist propaganda today.

The training discusses the significance of gender roles for the functioning of the right-wing extremist order. Furthermore, right-wing extremist positions concerning the family, “gender mainstreaming”, and homosexuality are introduced and possible points of contact with social discourses on gender are discussed.

Duration: 3 to 6 hours

Women in contemporary right-wing extremism

Are women less right-wing extremist than men? What role do women play within right-wing extremist scenes? What are their motives to become active in right-wing extremist organizations, and what functions do they adopt? And how does the public image of right-wing extremism change through women’s commitment?

The media and the public perceive right-wing extremism to be a predominantly male phenomenon. RIght-wing extremist orientations, however, are popular among girls and women especially. And the commitment of women in right-wing extremist scenes is becoming more and more normal and more diverse – be it as the guardian of the family or the street fighter, the party activist or musician – while a traditionally reactionary image of women still prevails.

The seminar illuminates roles and forms of organization of right-wing extremist women and girls, it discusses the discrepancies of propagated and actual ideas of femininity, and poses the question of where transformation of gender roles occurs in current right-wing extremism.

Duration: 1,5 to 3 hours

Right-wing extremist constructions of masculinity

What significance does the notion of a “natural” superiority of men versus women have in right-wing extremism? What is a right-wing extremist man? And what importance does sexism have in right-wing extremist ideology?

Right-wing extremist violence is almost exclusively committed by males, right-wing extremist youth scenes are defined by openly chauvinist and ostentatively aggressive behaviour. Right-wing extremist ideology is an ideology of masculinity pretending to create the “true” male. However, the relationship of right-wing extremism and constructions of masculinity is hardly discussed.

The training reflects what correlation of masculinities and right-wing extremism exists and what significance it has for a practice of prevention of right-wing extremism.

Duration: 1,5 to 3 hours

Strategies for gender-reflective practices within the prevention of right-wing extremism

What do the interests of boys and girls in right-wing extremist fields of experience have in common with notions of one’s own masculinity or femininity? How can the integration of the discussion of specifically right-wing extremist gender roles succeed within pedagogical practice? Which concepts are recommended when working with boys? And which for girls?

In social education with youth oriented towards right-wing extremism, a gender-specific view-point is not established yet. The work is focussed on boys and young men, girls and young women are less likely to be identified as a target group for specific programs of prevention and intervention. Furthermore, gender constructions associated with right-wing extremism are hardly the subject of a critical inquiry.

In the training, approaches to gender-reflective practices with youth are introduced, which can prove useful in broadening the pedagogical perspectives in the prevention of right-wing extremism. It is discussed which programs make sense when working with boys and girls respectively, and how the discussion of the construction of gender roles can successfully be implemented in social education.

Duration: 2 days

Please contact us at info@mbr-berlin.de oder or give us a call: 030 – 240 45 430.

Gender und Rechtsextremismus

Geschlechterrollen im modernen Rechtsextremismus

Worin unterscheiden sich die Motive von Jungen und Mädchen, in die rechtsextreme Szene einzusteigen? Welche Rolle spielen dabei Bilder vom „echten Mann“ und der „fürsorgenden Frau“? Und welche Bedeutung haben Geschlechter- und Familienpolitiken in der rechtsextremen Programmatik?

Klare Geschlechteridentitäten sind Grundlage des rechtsextremen Weltbildes. Das Ideal des „harten“, kämpferischen Mannes und der für Heim und Kinder sorgenden Frau sind in verschiedenen Spielarten durchgängig auffindbar. Aggressiver Antifeminismus und der Kampf gegen geschlechtliche Gleichstellung sind heute wesentlicher Teil rechtsextremer Propaganda.

In der Fortbildung wird die Bedeutung von Geschlechterrollen für das Funktionieren der rechtsextremen Ordnung erörtert. Zudem werden rechtsextreme Positionen zu Familie, „Gender Mainstreaming“ und Homosexualität vorgestellt sowie Anknüpfungspunkte zu gesellschaftlichen Diskursen um Geschlecht diskutiert.

Dauer: 3 bis 6 Stunden

Frauen im modernen Rechtsextremismus

Sind Frauen weniger rechtsextrem als Männer? Welche Rolle spielen Frauen in der rechtsextremen Szene? Was sind ihre Motive, in rechtsextremen Organisationen aktiv zu werden und welche Aufgaben übernehmen sie dort? Und wie verändert sich durch das Engagement rechtsextremer Frauen das öffentliche Bild des Rechtsextremismus?

Medien und Öffentlichkeit nehmen Rechtsextremismus noch immer als vorrangig männliches Phänomen wahr. Rechtsextreme Orientierungen sind jedoch gerade auch unter Mädchen und jungen Frauen verbreitet. Und auch das Engagement von Frauen in der rechtsextremen Szene ist – trotz Beibehaltung eines traditionell reaktionären Frauenbilds – selbstverständlicher und vielfältiger geworden: ob als Hüterin der Familie oder Straßenkämpferin, als Parteiaktivistin oder Musikerin.

Der Vortrag beleuchtet Rollen und Organisationsformen rechtsextremer Frauen und Mädchen, diskutiert Widersprüche von propagierten und gelebten Weiblichkeitsentwürfen und fragt nach einem etwaigen Wandel der Geschlechterverhältnisse im modernen Rechtsextremismus.

Dauer: 1,5 bis 3 Stunden

Rechtsextreme Männlichkeitskonstruktionen

Welche Bedeutung hat die Vorstellung einer „natürlichen“ Überlegenheit von Männern gegenüber Frauen im Rechtsextremismus? Was ist ein rechtsextremer Mann? Und wie wichtig ist Sexismus in der rechtsextremen Ideologie?

Rechtsextreme Gewalt wird fast ausschließlich von (jungen) Männern begangen, rechtsextreme Jugendszenen sind von offenem Chauvinismus und von der Zurschaustellung aggressiver Männlichkeiten geprägt. Rechtsextreme Ideologie ist eine Männlichkeitsideologie, die vorgibt, den „wahren Mann“ zu schaffen. Trotzdem wird selten nach dem Verhältnis von Rechtsextremismus und Männlichkeitskonstruktionen gefragt.

Die Fortbildung ergründet, welcher Zusammenhang zwischen Männlichkeiten und Rechtsextremismus besteht und fragt nach der Bedeutung für eine rechtsextremismuspräventive Praxis.

Dauer: 1,5 bis 3 Stunden

Geschlechterreflektierende Strategien für die Rechtsextremismusprävention

Was haben die Interessen von Jungen und Mädchen an rechtsextremen Erlebniswelten mit Vorstellungen über die eigene Männlichkeit oder Weiblichkeit zu tun? Wie kann es gelingen, die Auseinandersetzung mit spezifisch rechtsextremen Rollenvorstellungen in die sozialpädagogische Praxis zu integrieren? Welche Ansätze bieten sich für die Arbeit mit Jungen an? Und welche für Mädchen?

In der pädagogischen Arbeit mit rechtsextrem-orientierten Jugendlichen scheint sich noch kein geschlechtsspezifischer Blick entwickelt zu haben. Die Arbeit ist auf Jungen und junge Männer fokussiert; Mädchen oder junge Frauen geraten als Zielgruppe spezieller Angebote der Prävention und Intervention seltener in den Blick. Zudem werden mit dem Rechtsextremismus einhergehende Geschlechterkonstruktionen kaum kritisch hinterfragt.

In der Fortbildung werden Ansätze geschlechterreflektierender Arbeit mit Jugendlichen vorgestellt, mit Hilfe derer die pädagogische Rechtsextremismusprävention erweitert werden kann. Es soll diskutiert werden, welche Angebote für Jungen, und welche für Mädchen sinnvoll sein können und wie die Auseinandersetzung mit Geschlechterkonstruktionen systematisch in die Jugendarbeit einbezogen werden kann.

Dauer: 2 Tage

Bei Interesse wenden Sie sich bitte an info@mbr-berlin.de oder rufen Sie uns an: 030 – 817 985 810.

Wir bieten passgenaue Fortbildungen für Ihre Einrichtung und Situation an. Die Inhalte können immer je nach Bedarf für die Zielgruppe individuell zugeschnitten werden.