Schools

The school as a societal institution for democracy

In MBR's view, the school presents a vital institution which acts as an important authority of socialization for youth and young people. Dealing with right-wing extremism, it should therefore act as a reliable partner in fostering the ideals of democracy.

Teachers as target group

Schools have to be put into perspective bearing their immediate social and spatial context in mind. Hence, the staff have to be aware of current developments of right-wing extremist activities (and those oriented towards right-wing extremism) outside the schoolyard as well as transformations in right-wing extremist lifestyles, symbols, and codes. Only then will they be able to preventively act in the context of right-wing extremism.

Transfers of knowledge by networking in civic society and youth work

MBR provides support locally regarding the transfer of knowledge and information. MBR establishes networking capacities with further local actors working in youth centres and other associations of civic society to foster democracy. A prerequisite is the willingness of the respective school's governing body to allow access to the school in order to place the institution in its social context.

Students as target group

Students or pupils constitute the second vital target group. Differentiated concepts allow MBR to offer material with a specific thematic focus tailored to the respective student's age group. The 'chronicle workshop' for instance was developed especially to propose local means of action to students. The principle of teaching to act and reflect based on human rights forms the basis of MBR's methods and contents of workshops and programs in the framework of school project days.

Schule

Schule als gesellschaftliche Institution für Demokratie

Schule stellt aus Sicht der MBR eine wichtige gesellschaftliche Institution dar, die vor allem eine kaum zu unterschätzende Sozialisierungsinstanz für Jugendliche und junge Menschen sein kann. Im Umgang mit Rechtsextremismus sollte sie daher ein starker Partner darin sein, demokratische Wertvorstellungen an ihre junge Klientel zu vermitteln.

Zielgruppe Lehrer/innen

Schulen müssen in Bezug zu ihren unmittelbaren sozialräumlichen Kontexten gesetzt werden, d.h. das Lehrkollegium muss über aktuelle Entwicklungen rechtsextrem(-orientiert)er Aktivitäten außerhalb des Schulgeländes genauso informiert sein wie über Veränderungen bei rechtsextremen Lifestyles, Codes und Symbolen. Nur dann können sie im Kontext Rechtsextremismus präventiv wirken.

Wissenstransfer durch Vernetzungsarbeit in der Zivilgesellschaft und im Jugendfreizeitbereich

Für diesen Informations- und Wissenstransfer steht die MBR in allen ihren lokalen Arbeitsbereichen zur Verfügung. Nach Herstellung dieser Grundlage betreibt die MBR Vernetzungsarbeit mit weiteren lokalen Akteuren aus dem Jugendfreizeitbereich und der Zivilgesellschaft zum Zweck der Demokratiestärkung – Bedingung dafür ist die Schulöffnung, d.h. die Bereitschaft der jeweiligen Schulleitung, ihre Institution in gesellschaftliche Zusammenhänge zu rücken.

Zielgruppe Schüler/innen

Zweite entscheidende Zielgruppe sind die Schüler/innen. Durch strukturierte Konzepte ist die MBR in der Lage, altersspezifische Angebote mit unterschiedlichen inhaltlichen Schwerpunkten zum Thema Rechtsextremismus anzubieten. Instrumente wie der “Chronik-Workshop” wurden speziell für die Arbeit mit Schüler/innen zu lokalen Handlungsansätzen entwickelt. Bei der methodischen und inhaltlichen Gestaltung von Workshops und Projektschultagen verfolgt die MBR das grundlegende Ziel der Vermittlung von menschrechtsorientiertem Handeln und Denken.